Oregon Joint Use Association Standards Committee

Meeting Minutes – November 20, 2019

Interim Chair Stuart Sloan called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

Members Present:

Todd Gover, TDS Bend Broadband
Mark Rettmann, OPUC
Corey Cook, Pacific Power
Scott Rosenbalm, McMinnville Water &
Light*
Jaime Breckenridge, EWEB
Kristi Belveal, CenturyLink
Tim Gasser, Crown Castle
Stuart Sloan, CPI

Wayne Ronke, Charter Communications
Mike Allen, Comcast*

Not Present:

Marlene Martin, CoastCom by Wave Jerry Donovan, Chair, PGE Debbie Jenkins, EPUD

Guests:

Chris Barley, Oregon Aerial*

Staff:

Jody Lyon Laureal Williams

Approval of Minutes

The Committee reviewed the minutes of the September 25, 2019, meeting.

<u>MOTION</u>: It was moved by Tim Gasser and seconded by Wayne Ronke to approve the minutes of the September 25, 2019, meeting as written. **Motion passed.**

New Business

NESC Change Proposals – Mark Rettmann distributed and reviewed change proposals for the 2022 NESC for which the OJUA might be interested in providing comments. Chair Stuart Sloan noted that any comments the Committee wishes to submit must first be approved by the OJUA Executive Committee. Mark indicated that all comments must be submitted by March 2, 2020.

Reviewing the upcoming Standards Committee and Executive Committee meeting dates, the Standards Committee members committed to reviewing the comments electronically and providing a draft for review by the Executive Committee at its January 8, 2020, meeting. Any comments provided at that time could be incorporated by the Standards Committee at its January 15 meeting. If needed, a second review could be conducted by the Executive Committee at its February meeting, providing final approval prior to submission of the comments to the IEEE. Stuart will provide an overview of the Standards Committee plans at the OJUA Board meeting in December.

The Committee reviewed the change proposals provided by Mark and began crafting the following comments:

CP5542, Rule 017A – Consensus of the Committee to recommend supporting the change proposal as written to provide separate customary and metric unit tables in an annex or appendix to the NESC.

CP5096, Rule 215 C2 and C3 – Todd Gover offered to craft the recommendation and forward it to staff for distribution to the Committee.

CP5230, Rule 232, Table 232-1 - Consensus of the Committee to not support the change proposal for these reasons: the objective of the change is not clearly evident, it does not impact grandfathered installations, and it seems to reduce the safety factor that is built into this rule.

CP5067, Rule 217 A3 – Consensus of the Committee to support the proposed change for these reasons: Increased identification of pole users will increase overall efficiency. More 4G and 5G deployments are likely to result in increased congestion and many of the attachments are similar in appearance.

The Committee members discussed contacting their counterparts outside of Oregon to solicit support for the proposed change. In addition, contractors and affiliated labor unions are likely to have a vested interest in supporting the proposal. Mark Rettmann offered to contact IBEW regarding submittal of comments for this change proposal.

CP 5068, Rule 217 A2c – Consensus of the Committee to support this change proposal as originally submitted by the OJUA noting that anything that is a foothold or access grabbing point must be cleared by at least 8 feet. Mark Rettmann suggested the following text, "Recognize an 8 foot clear zone above effectively grounded equipment cases."

CP5069, Rule 234 C3d(1) – Consensus of the Committee to support this change proposal; Stuart will craft the comments and forward to staff for distribution to the Committee.

Note, the Committee recommended that the opening statement for all comments to be submitted should identify OJUA as representing communication workers and power workers (the opening statement included in the 2017 NESC Comment Form submitted by the Association may suffice).

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 p.m. The next regularly scheduled Committee meeting will be Wednesday, January 15, at 10 a.m.